The Novena of Grace

This is a child page of Pray to Our Lady and Other Prayers

One night in early January 1634, Saint Francis Xavier appeared in a vision to Father Marcello Mastrilli, a Jesuit priest near death. The saint promised Father Mastrilli that “All those who implore my help daily for nine consecutive days, from the fourth to the twelfth of March inclusive and worthily receive the Sacraments of Penance and Holy Communion on one of the nine days will experience my protection and may hope with entire assurance to obtain from God any Grace they ask that is for the good of their souls and the glory of God."
The Novena of Grace has successfully helped many of the faithful for centuries. You can pray this novena any time during the year, not just on the dates specified by St. Francis Xavier.

O Saint Francis Xavier, well beloved and full of charity, in union with thee, I reverently adore the Majesty of God; and since I rejoice with exceeding joy in the singular gifts of grace bestowed upon thee during thy life, and thy gifts of glory after death, I give Him hearty thanks therefore; I beseech thee with all my heart’s devotion to be pleased to obtain for me, by thy effectual intercession, above all things, the grace of a holy life and a happy death. Moreover, I beg of thee to obtain for me…(here mention the spiritual or temporal favour to be prayed for). But if what I ask of thee so earnestly doth not tend to the glory of God and the greater good of my soul, do thou, I pray obtain for me what is more profitable to both these ends.



Prayer of St. Frances

Lord, make me a channel of your peace:
Where there is hatred let me sow love,
Where there is injury let me sow pardon.
Where there is doubt let me sow faith,
Where there is despair let me give hope,
Where there is darkness let me give light,
Where there is sadness let me give joy.

O Divine Master, grant that I may
Not try to be comforted but to comfort,
Not try to be understood but to understand,
Not try to be loved but to love.

Because it is in giving that we receive,
It is in forgiving that we are forgiven,
And it is in dying that we are born to eternal life.


The Divine Praises

Blessed be God.
Blessed be His holy name.
Blessed be the name of Jesus.
Blessed be His most Sacred Heart.
Blessed be his most precious Blood.
Blessed be Jesus in the most holy Sacrament of the Alter.
Blessed be the Holy Spirit the Paraclete.
Blessed be the great Mother of God, Mary most holy.
Blessed be her holy and immaculate conception.
Blessed be he glorious assumption.
Blessed be the name of Mary, Virgin and Mother.
Blessed be St. Joseph her most chase spouse.
Blessed be God in His angels and in His saints.


The Mysteries of the Rosary

When we say the Rosary we are imitating what the mysteries contain and obtain what they promise. We are praying for strength and wisdom and for the graces the Rosary can give us and others. The word “mysteries” refers to particular events in the lives of Jesus and Mary.

The Five Joyful Mysteries (said on Mondays and Saturdays)
1. The Annunciation
2. The Visitation
3. The Nativity
4. The Presentation
5. The Finding of the Child Jesus in the Temple

The Five Luminous Mysteries (said on Thursdays)
1. The Baptism of Jesus
2. The Wedding at Cana
3. The Proclamation of the Kingdom of God
4. The Transfiguration
5. The Institution of the Eucharist

The Five Sorrowful Mysteries (said on Tuesdays and Fridays)
1. The Agony in the Garden
2. The Scourging at the Pillar
3. The Crowning with Thorns
4. The Carrying of the Cross
5. The Crucifixion

The Five Glorious Mysteries (said on Wednesdays and Sundays)
1. The Resurrection
2. The Ascension
3. The Descent of the Holy Spirit
4. The Assumption
5. The Coronation

(Note: we say the Sorrowful Mysteries during the Sundays of Lent and
the Joyful Mysteries on Sundays in Advent.)